Bayon Temple: The Temple of Faces

The Bayon Temple is my most favorite temple besides Angkor Wat in the Angkor Archeological Park even though each temple has a special something. It is one of the most enigmatic and ambiguously strong religious constructions. Today, the temple is best known for the gigantic stone face sculptures.

Bayon Temple

with my sister in Bayon Temple

This was taken during my first visit in Angkor Thom in October 2010.

The Bayon Temple is located at the centre of Angkor Thom. It was built during the late 12th century and early 13th century, about 100 years after they built Angkor Wat, during the reign of the famous King Jayavarman VII. It is considered as the second most important temple in Cambodia after Angkor Wat because it is a Buddhist temple consecrated to the Buddhist cult.

Bayon Temple

My sister in Bayon Temple

Bayon Temple

As part of the Angkor Archaeological Park, Bayon Temple has been famous for its amazing collection of Buddha large, serene, smiling stone faces found on each towers. I have learned that there are about 54 towers which represent the Khmer provinces in the Great Khmer Empire period. I have also learned that there are about 200 faces which symbolize different Buddha smiling faces such as beautiful smile, glad smile, sad smile and charming smile. And, these different stone faces in the walls surely amaze each tourist.

l6-1

 

Visiting Bayon Temple with my sister

Bayon Temple

When we visited the Bayon Temple, I could feel the splendor and the magic from the people living during those ancient times who were able to construct all these amazing temples in the Angkor Kingdom. I loved the many smiling Buddhas in this temple. It was so peaceful and quiet. We climbed to the top of the tier of the Bayon Temple and we found great views of the tree canopy and some bird spotting. We captured a lot of beautiful pictures in there. We saw some workers who were restoring this beautiful architecture.

Bayon Temple

Bayon Temple

I would say that this place is an exceptional architectural heritage. The details that went into carving the faces from stones are spectacular. It was a unique experience and a pleasure to photograph. To me, the architecture plan is one of the greatest in the world.

It was my sister’s first time visit in Angkor Thom

Bayon Temple

Have you found the most smiling face?

7 thoughts on “Bayon Temple: The Temple of Faces

  1. Pingback: Inside Poland news, events and more from Poland, in English | Inside-Poland.com

    • I felt the same way too, Judy. However, due to the increasing number of visitors each year, I’m afraid the preservation work might not stay ahead of the race. Having said that, I consider myself very lucky that I was able to visit the temples and was allowed to walk, climb and sit around the temples, but my children and grandchildren may only be able to visit from a distance. Many magnificent ancient Khmer temples still lay half forgotten in the jungles of Cambodia. It seems doubtful whether they will all be saved from slow oblivion.

  2. Pingback: Temple Hopping in Cambodia | Little Lilly Meets the World

  3. Pingback: Taking the Big Circuit Tour and the Small Circuit Tour to explore Angkor Archaeological Park | Little Lilly Meets the World

Leave a comment